By 90Min
November 02, 2017

England have named their Under-19 squad for upcoming European championship qualifiers, with attention on the country's junior teams spiking in 2017 after several recent successes at various age groups on both a continental and global stage.

Earlier this year, the Under-19 team won the European Championship after victory over Portugal in the final in Georgia. The Under-20 side, meanwhile, became the first English team to win a global title since 1966 when they claimed victory at the Under-20 World Cup in June.

Getty Images/GettyImages

Just last month, England's Under-17 squad were triumphant at the Under-17 World Cup in India, thrashing Spain 5-2 in the final just a few months after being beaten by the same opposition in the final of the Under-17 Euros.

The Under-19 side face qualifiers against the Faroe Islands, Iceland and Bulgaria this month in what is essentially a mini-qualifying tournament in Bulgaria to determine which two countries will progress to the next round of qualifying ahead of the finals in Finland next summer.

Names in the squad to watch out for include Trevoh Chalobah, the younger brother of Watford midfielder Nathaniel Chalobah, Fulham starlet Ryan Sessegnon, Chelsea's Mason Mount, who was named Best Player at this year's Under-19 Euros, as well as promising Arsenal trio Joe Willock, Reiss Nelson and Edward Nketiah, each of whom has Gunners first-team experience.

Srdjan Stevanovic/GettyImages

Borussia Dortmund forward Jadon Sancho has also been included in the squad for the first time.

England Under-19 Squad in Full:

Goalkeepers: Ellery Balcombe (Brentford), Ryan Schofield (Huddersfield Town), Jake Turner (Bolton Wanderers)

Defenders: Trevoh Chalobah (Chelsea), Morgan Feeney (Everton), Reece James (Chelsea), Japhet Tanganga (Tottenham Hotspur), Josh Tymon (Stoke City)

Midfielders: Dennis Adeniran (Everton), Flynn Downes (Ipswich Town), Elliot Embleton (Sunderland), Mason Mount (Vitesse Arnhem, loan from Chelsea), Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham), Dujon Sterling (Chelsea), Marcus Tavernier (Middlesbrough), Joe Willock (Arsenal)

Forwards: Ben Brereton (Nottingham Forest), George Hirst (Sheffield Wednesday), Reiss Nelson (Arsenal), Edward Nketiah (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)

Ronny Hartmann/GettyImages

The three games will be played on 8th November (Faroe Islands), 11th November (Iceland) and 14th November (Bulgaria).

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)