The 2018 FIFA World Cup Finals will take place in 11 different cities across Russia and will commence on June 14, 2018.

By Nihal Kolur
October 05, 2017

The 2018 FIFA World Cup is set to commence in less than a year, and the field is set.

The final stretch of qualification for next summer's tournament has been completed, with Peru topping New Zealand in an intercontinental playoff to complete the 32-team field. The draw for the group stage is set to take place on Dec. 1. 

Each national team's October 2017 FIFA World Ranking will determine their pot placement. The highest-ranked teams will be placed in Pot 1, the next-highest in Pot 2 and so on. Russia will automatically be placed in Pot 1 as the host nation.

Germany, Belgium, England, Spain and Brazil are among the teams who qualified for the World Cup, while Chile, Italy and the United States faced heartbreak and failed to secure a spot in Russia.

A full list of qualifiers for the 21st FIFA World Cup can be found below:

UEFA (Europe)

Qualified: Russia (host), Belgium, Germany, England, Spain, Poland, Iceland, Serbia, France, Portugal, Switzerland, Croatia, Sweden, Denmark

In Contention: None

Recently Eliminated: Czech Republic, Norway, Israel, Hungary, Turkey, Ukraine, Netherlands, Greece, Italy, Ireland

AFC (Asia) 

Qualified: Iran, South Korea, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Australia

In Contention: None

Recently Eliminated: Uzbekistan, China, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Thailand, Qatar, Syria

CAF (Africa)

Qualified: Nigeria, Egypt, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco

In Contention: None

Recently Eliminated: Cameroon, Algeria, Guinea, Libya, Congo, Zambia, Uganda, Ghana, South Africa

CONCACAF (North America)

Qualified: Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama

In Contention: None

Recently Eliminated: United States, Canada, El Salvador, Trinidad & Tobago, Haiti, Jamaica, Guatemala

CONMEBOL (South America)

Qualified: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Colombia, Peru

In Contention: None

Recently Eliminated: Bolivia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Chile, Paraguay

OFC (Oceania)

Qualified: None

In Contention: None

Recently Eliminated: New Zealand, Solomon Islands, Fiji, New Caledonia, Tahiti, Papua New Guinea

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)