Southeastern Conference says South Carolina should have gotten an extra play at the end of Saturday's game against Auburn, when two players entered the final play with the same jersey number.

By SI Wire
October 27, 2014

The Southeastern Conference says South Carolina should have gotten an extra play at the end of Saturday's game against Auburn.

SEC spokesman Chuck Dunlap told the Associated Press that Auburn should have been penalized five yards for having two players with the same number on the field during the final play. South Carolina would have gotten another play had a penalty been called, but instead the game ended on a failed Hail Mary, giving the Tigers a 42-35 win.

South Carolina had the ball at the Auburn 41-yard line and Auburn had on the field defensive tackle Montravius Adams, who wears No. 1, and wide receiver D'haquille Williams, who also wears No. 1 and was sent in to help defend against the last-ditch scoring attempt.

South Carolina quarterback Dylan Thompson's pass was intercepted by Jonathan Jones, ending the game.

Auburn defensive coordinator Ellis Johnson said Adams was not supposed to be on the field during the play and that no one on Auburn thought about the two players having the same number.

"We have to get him off. They didn't have a timeout, so they didn't have time to call it off. It doesn't affect the play, but a rule's a rule, though,” Johnson said.

Fourth-ranked Auburn (6-1, 3-1 SEC) takes on No. 7 Ole Miss (7-1, 4-1 SEC) Saturday, while South Carolina (4-4, 2-4 SEC) plays Tennessee (3-5, 0-4 SEC).

- Scooby Axson

You May Like