Louisville QB Lamar Jackson wins Heisman Trophy

0:51 | College Football
Louisville QB Lamar Jackson wins Heisman Trophy
Sunday December 11th, 2016

Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson has been named the 2016 Heisman Trophy award winner, it was announced in New York City on Saturday night.

Jackson, 19, beat out four other finalists—Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers and Oklahoma teammates Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook—for the award.

Watson finished third in last year's voting, won by Alabama running back Derrick Henry. Mayfield finished fourth last season, but did not get an invite to Heisman presentation in New York.

Westbrook and Mayfield were the first teammates to be finalists since Reggie Bush and Matt Leinart from Southern California finished first and third, respectively in 2005.

Peppers was the first defensive player to be a Heisman finalist since Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o was a distant runner-up to Johnny Manziel in 2012.

Information from the Associated Press was used in this report.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.