February 03, 2017

(STATS) - Coming off a share of the Big South championship, Liberty will seek a 12th straight winning season in its 11-game 2017 schedule which was announced Friday.

Coach Turner Gill's Flames will kick off the season on Sept. 2 at Baylor and host six opponents at Williams Stadium. Last season, they ranked ninth in the FCS in average home attendance (16,377) while sharing the conference title with Charleston Southern with a 4-1 record and finishing with a 6-5 overall mark.

Liberty will host Morehead State (Sept. 9), Indiana State (Sept. 16) and last year's Northeast Conference co-champs, Saint Francis (Sept. 30) and Duquesne (Nov. 4), out of conference, and Kennesaw State (Oct. 14) and Presbyterian (Nov. 11) in the Big South.

The Baylor game marks the sixth time the Flames will face a Power Five opponent in the last seven years. They also will play at Ohio Valley Conference champ Jacksonville State (Sept. 23) as well Big South members Monmouth (Oct. 21), Gardner-Webb (Oct. 28) and Charleston Southern (Nov. 18).

2017 Liberty Schedule

Sept. 2, at Baylor

Sept. 9, Morehead State

Sept. 16, Indiana State

Sept. 23, at Jacksonville State

Sept. 30, Saint Francis

Oct. 14, Kennesaw State*

Oct. 21, at Monmouth*

Oct. 28, at Gardner-Webb*

Nov. 4, Duquesne

Nov. 11, Presbyterian*

Nov. 18, at Charleston Southern*

* - Big South game

You May Like