Royals' Greg Holland wins first Mariano Rivera Award

0:59 | MLB
Craig Kimbrel, Greg Holland win new MLB reliever awards
Wednesday October 22nd, 2014

Kansas City Royals pitcher Greg Holland won the first Mariano Rivera Award and Atlanta Braves pitcher Craig Kimbrel won the first Trevor Hoffman Award, Major League Baseball announced. 

In April, MLB said it would rename its award for the best relief pitcher in each league after retired closers Rivera and Hoffman. It was previously called the Delivery Man of the Year Award.

CORCORAN: World Series Game 2 preview

A small group of former top relievers, including Rivera and Hoffman, choose the winners. 

Holland earned 46 saves during the regular season and had a 1.44 ERA. He struck out 90 batters in 62 1/3 innings. Kimbrel had a 1.61 ERA and an NL-leading 47 saves in 2014, with 95 strikeouts in 61 2/3 innings. Both pitchers were named All-Stars. 

The award was presented before Game 2 of the World Series on Wednesday, which Holland is participating in. Holland has six saves so far in the 2014 postseason while giving up one earned run in four innings.

• ​REITER: Despite loss, Royals aren't down or out for Game 2

"This is a very humbling experience," said Holland, according to CBSSports. "You kinda get iffy any time your name is put on a plaque with these two guys [Rivera and Trevor Hoffman]."

- Molly Geary

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.