Skip to main content

Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson highlight Hall of Fame ballot

  • Author:
  • Publish date:

The Baseball Writers Association of America revealed the ballot for the Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2015, and pitchers Pedro Martinez and Randy Johnson highlight the players in their first year of eligibility.

Rich Aurilia, Aaron Boone, Tony Clark, Carlos Delgado, Jermaine Dye, Darin Erstad, Cliff Floyd, Nomar Garciaparra, Brian Giles, Tom Gordon, Eddie Guardado, Troy Percival, Jason Schmidt, Gary Sheffield and John Smoltz are the other players appearing on the ballot for the first time.

Martinez was an eight-time All-Star and three-time Cy Young Award winner during his 18-year career with the Dodgers, Expos, Red Sox, Mets and Phillies. He won 219 games and finished with a 2.93 ERA and 3,154 strikeouts. Martinez won the World Series in 2004 with the Red Sox.

• Red Sox nearing five-year deal with SS Ramirez

Johnson was a 10-time All-Star, five-time Cy Young Award winner and 2001 World Series co-MVP. He played 22 seasons between the Expos, Mariners, Astros, Diamondbacks, Yankees and Giants.

Craig Biggio returns after appearing on 74.8 percent of the ballots last season, narrowly missing the 75 percent threshold for induction. Mike Piazza enters his third season of eligibility after appearing on 62.2 percent of the ballots last season.

Mark McGwire appears on the ballot for a ninth time, while Barry Bonds and Sammy Sosa each make their second appearance on the ballot.

Sandoval close to five-year deal with Red Sox

The results will be announced on Jan. 6 at 2 p.m. on MLB Network.

The complete list of candidates can be seen here.

- Paul Palladino