No new Golden Era Committee inductees to Baseball Hall of Fame

Monday December 8th, 2014

The National Baseball Hall of Fame has zero new inductees from the 2015 Golden Era Committee ballot, the museum announced Monday.

The Golden Era Committee votes on candidates whose contributions to baseball were most significant from 1947-72. This year's ballot featured nine former players -- Dick Allen, Ken Boyer, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Minoso, Tony Oliva, Billy Pierce, Luis Tiant and Maury Wills -- and one former executive, Bob Howsam. The 16-person voting committee included eight Hall of Famers, four veteran baseball executives and four historians or media members. Bios for each candidate can be found on the Hall's website.

Seventy-five percent (12 votes) were needed for enshrinement. Allen and Oliva each received 11 votes, while Kaat garnered 10.

JAWS: Why John Smoltz's Hall of Fame case isn't so simple

The results of the BBWAA Hall of Fame vote will be released in January. Any Golden Era Committee inductees would have joined the BBWAA selections for enshrinement at this summer's Induction Ceremony on July 26 in Cooperstown.  

The Golden Era Committee operates on a three-year cycle per era, so it will next consider Golden Era candidates in 2017 for induction in 2018. The Pre-Integration Era (1871-1946) will be up next year, while the Expansion Era (1973-present) will vote in 2016.

CORCORAN: Dodgers, A's among teams to watch at winter meetings

- Mike Fiammetta

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.