Mets clinch first National League East division title since 2006

0:44 | MLB
New York Mets clinch first NL East title since 2006
Friday September 25th, 2015

The Mets have clinched the National League East division title with a 10–2 victory over the Reds on Saturday. 

The Mets have advanced to their first playoff series since 2006 when the team lost to the St. Louis Cardinals in seven games. In 2006, the Mets won the division for the first time since 1988. 

In 2000, the Mets won the wild card for a second straight season and advanced to the World Series before losing to the New York Yankees. The Mets have not won the World Series since 1986. 

Starting pitcher Bartolo Colon leads the team with 14 victories. Outfielder Curtis Granderson has the most home runs on the roster with 23. Second baseman Daniel Murphy leads the team with 69 RBIs.

The Mets are the fourth NL team to clinch a playoff berth, joining the Cardinals, Cubs and Pirates. Only the Dodgers, who hold an eight-game lead over the Giants, have yet to clinch. 

- Christopher Chavez

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.