Who has home field advantage for the World Series?

Tuesday October 18th, 2016

The 2016 World Series will begin on Oct. 25 following the conclusion of the American League Championship Series and National League Championship Series. 

The Indians are facing the Blue Jays in the ALCS, while the Cubs are playing the Dodgers in the NLCS. 

The Cubs are looking to win their first World Series in 108 years. The team hasn't appeared in a World Series since 1945. 

Major League Baseball determines home field advantage in the postseason by the winner of the All–Star Game. MLB has used this format since 2003. 

Since the American League won this year's All–Star Game 4–2, the winner of the ALCS will hold home–field advantage in the World Series. That means either the Indians or Blue Jays will host Games 1, 2, 6 and 7, while either the Cubs or Dodgers will hosts Games 3, 4 and 5. 

Keep up with all the latest coverage of the 2016 MLB postseason on SI.com. 

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.