Corey Seager, Michael Fulmer win Rookie of the Year awards

The Dodgers shortstop and Tigers starter picked up the hardware.
Publish date:

Los Angeles Dodgers shortstop Corey Seager has been voted National League Rookie of the Year, becoming the first player in two decades to win the award for the franchise that has historically dominated the honor. Detroit Tigers pitcher Michael Fulmer was voted the American League Rookie of the Year.

Seager is the 17th Dodgers player to earn Rookie of the Year honors—easily the most of any team—but the franchise hadn't had a winner since Todd Hollandsworth in 1996. Seager won the award unanimously in voting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, announced Monday on MLB Network. He hit .308 with 26 home runs and 72 RBIs for the NL West champions.

Washington outfielder Trea Turner finished second, followed by Dodgers pitcher Kenta Maeda.

Fulmer, who received 26 of 30 first-place votes, is the fifth Tigers player to be honored with the Rookie of the Year award and the 16th pitcher to win it in the last 35 years.

Yankees catcher Gary Sanchez finished in second place, with four first place votes. Tyler Naquin of the Indians came in third. 

Information from the Associated Press was used in this report.