Skip to main content

The MLB playoffs will look a little different this year, with over half the league earning a ticket to the dance.

To make up for a shortened season, the league expanded the postseason field from 10 teams to 16. The top two teams in each division will make the playoffs, plus two wild-card teams from each league. The wild-card round will feature all 16 teams playing in a best-of-three series, to be played at the home park of the higher-seeded team.

mlb baseball logo

The top three seeds (Nos. 1-3) in each league will be given to the three division winners (East, Central, West) based on their records.

The next three seeds (Nos. 4-6) will go to each division's second-place teams, while the final two seeds (Nos. 7-8) will be assigned to the two teams with the next best records, regardless of their division and division standing.

Here are the playoff seeds and matchups for the wild-card.

American League:

No. 1 Tampa Bay Rays (East winner) vs. No. 8 Toronto Blue Jays (WC No. 2)
No. 2 Oakland Athletics (West winner) vs. No. 7 Chicago White Sox (WC No. 1)
No. 3 Minnesota Twins (Central winner) vs. No. 6 Houston Astros (West runner-up)
No. 4 Cleveland Indians (Central runner-up) vs. No. 5 New York Yankees (East runner-up)

National League:

No. 1 Los Angeles Dodgers (West winner) vs. No. 8 Milwaukee Brewers (WC No. 2)
No. 2 Atlanta Braves (East winner) vs. No. 7 Cincinnati Reds (WC No. 1)
No. 3 Chicago Cubs (Central winner) vs. No. 6 Miami Marlins (East runner-up)
No. 4 San Diego Padres (West runner-up) vs. No. 5 St. Louis Cardinals (Central runner-up)