UFC 84 salaries and bonuses

Publish date:

MMAWeekly has obtained the fighter salary information from the Nevada State Athletic Commission for UFC 84, which took place on Saturday, May 24, at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

The following figures are based on the fighter salary information that promoters are required by law to submit to the state athletic commissions, including the winners' bonuses.

Although mixed martial arts fighters do not have collective bargaining or a union, the fighters' salaries are still public record, just as with every other major sport in the United States. Any undisclosed bonuses that a promoter also pays its fighters, but does not disclose to the athletic commissions (specifically, pay-per-view bonuses, fight of the night bonuses, etc.), are not included in the figures below.

In the listings below, "Main Event Fighters" are defined as fighters who compete in the main event of a show. "Main Card Fighters" are defined as fighters whose fights appear on the main card, but not in the main event. "Preliminary Card Fighters" are defined as fighters whose matches take place before the live broadcast goes on the air, regardless of whether or not those matches end up airing on the TV or Internet broadcast.

B.J. Penn: $250,000 (defeated Sean Sherk; win bonus was $125,000)

Sean Sherk: $35,000 (lost to B.J. Penn; win bonus would have been $35,000)

Tito Ortiz: $210,000 (lost to Lyoto Machida; no win bonus)

Wanderlei Silva: $150,000 (defeated Keith Jardine; no win bonus)

Lyoto Machida: $100,000 (defeated Tito Ortiz; win bonus was $50,000)

Keith Jardine: $10,000 (lost to Wanderlei Silva; won bonus would have been $10,000)

Goran Reljic: $6,000 (defeated Wilson Gouveia; win bonus was $3,000)

Wilson Gouveia: $18,000 (lost to Goran Reljic; won bonus would have been $18,000)

Antonio Mendes: $4,000 (lost to Thiago Silva; won bonus would have been $4,000)

Thiago Silva: $50,000 (defeated Antonio Mendes; win bonus was $25,000)

Rousimar Palhares: $10,000 (defeated Ivan Salaverry; win bonus was $5,000)

Ivan Salaverry: $20,000 (lost to Rousimar Palhares; won bonus would have been $10,000)

Kazuhiro Nakamura: $20,000 (lost to Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou; won bonus would have been $20,000)

Rameau Thierry Sokoudjou: $80,000 (defeated Kazuhiro Nakamura; win bonus was $40,000)

Terry Etim: $10,000 (lost to Rich Clementi; won bonus would have been $10,000)

Rich Clementi: $40,000 (defeated Terry Etim; win bonus was $20,000)

Yoshiyuki Yoshida: $12,000 (defeated Jon Koppenhaver; win bonus was $6,000)

Jon Koppenhaver: $8,000 (lost to Yoshiyuki Yoshida; won bonus would have been $4,000)

Dong Hyun Kim: $40,000 (defeated Jason Tan; win bonus was $20,000)

Jason Tan: $3,000 (lost to Dong Hyun Kim; won bonus would have been $3,000)

Shane Carwin: $12,000 (defeated Christian Wellisch; win bonus was $6,000)

Christian Wellisch: 10,000 (lost to Shane Carwin; won bonus would have been $10,000)


(as disclosed by UFC president Dana White)

Each fighter received a $75,000 bonus for the following awards.

Fight of the Night: -- Goran Reljic and Wilson Gouveia

Knockout of the Night: -- Wanderlei Silva

Submission of the Night: -- Rousimar Palhares