Sebastian Coe, Sergei Bubka named to IAAF Hall of Fame

Publish date:

MONACO (AP) -- Sebastian Coe and Sergei Bubka are among the 24 inaugural members of the track and field governing body's Hall of Fame, the IAAF said Monday.

Those already announced as members to mark 100 years of the organization include: Jesse Owens, Carl Lewis, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Abebe Bikila, Paavo Nurmi, Emil Zatopek, Al Oerter, Adhemar da Silva, Ed Moses, Fanny Blankers-Koen, Betty Cuthbert, Wang Junxia, Irena Szewinska, Mildred Didriksen, Michael Johnson, Dan O'Brien and Alberto Juantorena.

Another five athletes will make up the inaugural class of 24. The official induction ceremony will take place at the IAAF Centenary Gala on Nov. 24 in Barcelona.

Coe is head of the London Olympics organizing committee. The Briton won 1,500-meter gold and 800-meter silver at the 1980 Moscow Games and repeated the feat four years later at Los Angeles.

Pole vaulting great Bubka is the only athlete to have won six world championships in the same individual discipline, from 1983 to 1999. The 48-year-old Soviet-Ukrainian also took gold at the 1988 Seoul Olympics.