Skip to main content
Publish date:

Suns' Goran Dragic wins NBA's Most Improved Player Award

Goran Dragic averaged a career-high 20.3 points per game in 2013-14. (Barry Gossage/NBAE/Getty Images)

Goran Dragic

Suns guard Goran Dragic was named the 2013-14 Most Improved Player on Wednesday after leading Phoenix to the NBA's biggest turnaround this season.

Dragic, 27, powered the Suns to a 23-win improvement (48-34), averaging a career-best 20.3 points to go with 5.9 assists and 3.2 rebounds. Known for his fearlessness when driving to the rim and his sharpshooting, Dragic took his games to new heights in his sixth season. He averaged almost seven more points per game than the year before and shot career bests from the field (50.5 percent) and three-point range (40.8), becoming the first guard since 1992-93 to reach those percentages while averaging 20 points. His Player Efficiency Rating (21.4) topped 20 for the first time and he established himself as one of the best point guards in the league, ranking in the top 20 overall in points, assists, PER and true shooting percentage.

Popovich wins Coach of the Year | Noah claims DPOY

Dragic (408 points, 65-first-place votes), beat out Indiana's Lance Stephenson (158, 13) and New Orleans' Anthony Davis (155, 16) for the hardware. Phoenix teammate Gerald Green (16, 117) finished fourth, and another Sun, forward Markieff Morris, was 10th.

SI Recommends's 2014 regular-season awards: See how our NBA experts voted

The Suns easily exceeded expectations by finishing only one game out of the playoffs. The unexpected postseason contention wouldn't have been possible without Dragic, who played 76 of 82 games and managed to buoy the offense even when co-star Eric Bledsoe was sidelined with injuries for half the season.

The last Phoenix player to win the award was Boris Diaw, in 2005-06. Last season's winner was Indiana's Paul George.

TAYLOR: How Dragic emerged as a star

To see a complete breakdown of how the media voted on the Most Improved Player Award, click here.

Here are the results of the voting:

2014 Most Improved Player voting