Skip to main content

NBA announces 2015 All-Star starters, headlined by Curry, LeBron

Here they come, New York City. The NBA announced the starting lineups for the 2015 All-Star Game on Thursday, with Warriors guard Stephen Curry and Cavaliers forward LeBron James leading the way for the Western and Eastern Conferences, respectively. 

The West's starting lineup features Curry, Kobe Bryant (Lakers), Anthony Davis (Pelicans), Blake Griffin (Clippers) and Marc Gasol (Grizzlies).

The East's starting lineup is made up of John Wall (Wizards), Kyle Lowry (Raptors), James, Carmelo Anthony (Knicks) and Pau Gasol (Bulls).

Lineups were selected by a fan vote, which was conducted in an all-digital format this season. Curry was the overall leading vote-getter with 1,513,324, unseating James, who was the leading vote-getter in 2014 and had led this year's balloting through the first three rounds. James pulled in an East-leading total of 1,470,483 votes, topping the conference for the third straight year. 

• MORE NBA: Midseason awards | SI's All-Star starters | Dream Dunk Contest

Lowry moved past Dwyane Heat (Heat) after the third round of voting returns were announced on Jan. 8. The other nine starters remained the same over the voting process's final two weeks. 

Marc Gasol and Pau Gasol are the first pair of brothers selected as starters in the same All-Star Game.

Here's a visual look at how the 10 All-Star Game starters compared in vote total.


The NBA will announce seven reserves for each conference -- selected by a coaches' vote -- on Jan. 29. Any injury reserves will be appointed by commissioner Adam Silver.

Earlier Thursday, the Lakers announced that Bryant has suffered a torn rotator cuff in his right shoulder. The injury could sideline Bryant for the remainder of the 2014-15 season and should open up a spot in the West's starting lineup. James Harden (Rockets) would appear to be the leading candidate to replace Bryant, as he ranked No. 5 overall in votes (1,069,368) but failed to land a starting spot because he trailed Curry and Bryant among West guards. 

The 2015 All-Star Game is set for Madison Square Garden on Feb. 15. Steve Kerr (Warriors) and Mike Budenholzer (Hawks) will serve as coaches for the West and East. named its starting lineups for the All-Star Game last week. Curry, Davis, Marc Gasol, Lowry, James and Pau Gasol were all selected to's team. Jimmy Butler (Bulls), Paul Millsap (Hawks), LaMarcus Aldridge (Blazers) and Harden were the remaining four picks. 

The full rundown of votes is below. Starters are bolded for emphasis.


Eastern Conference


1. LeBron James (Cle) 1,470,483

2. Pau Gasol (Chi) 974,177

3. Carmelo Anthony (NY) 647,005

4. Marcin Gortat (Was) 570,005

5. Chris Bosh (Mia) 542,006

6. Kevin Love (Cle) 386,208

7. Jonas Valanciunas (Tor) 231,741

8. Joakim Noah (Chi) 203,718

9. Nikola Vucevic (Orl) 129,293

10. Paul Millsap (Atl) 121,938

11. Al Horford (Atl) 114,955

12. Al Jefferson (Cha) 110,980

13. Kevin Garnett (BKN) 106,820

14. Nikola Mirotic (Chi) 103,645

15. Andre Drummond (Det) 86,717


1. John Wall (Was) 886,368

2. Kyle Lowry (Tor) 805,290

3. Dwyane Wade (Mia) 789,839

4. Kyrie Irving (Cle) 535,873

5. Jimmy Butler (Chi) 455,756

6. Derrick Rose (Chi) 379,994

7. DeMar DeRozan (Tor) 159,123

8. Jeff Teague (Atl) 83,900

9. Lou Williams (Tor) 82,135

10. Giannis Antetokounmpo (Mil) 55,014

Western Conference


1. Anthony Davis (NO) 1,369,911

2. Marc Gasol (Mem) 795,121

3. Blake Griffin (LAC) 700,615

4. Tim Duncan (SA) 546,817

5. Kevin Durant (OKC) 545,226

6. LaMarcus Aldridge (Por) 498,131

7. DeMarcus Cousins (Sac) 465,334

8. Dwight Howard (Hou) 348,275

9. Dirk Nowitzki (Dal) 292,557

10. Rudy Gay (Sac) 144,702

11. Kawhi Leonard (SA) 132,150

12. DeAndre Jordan (LAC) 117,816

13. Serge Ibaka (OKC) 107,223

14. Draymond Green (GS) 99,039

15. Tyson Chandler (Dal) 98,654


1. Stephen Curry (GS) 1,513,324

2. Kobe Bryant (LAL) 1,152,402

3. James Harden (Hou) 1,069,368

4. Chris Paul (LAC) 551,167

5. Damian Lillard (Por) 365,417

6. Klay Thompson (GS) 314,254

7. Russell Westbrook (OKC) 248,758

8. Rajon Rondo (Dal) 219,506

9. Jeremy Lin (LAL) 216,246

10. Mike Conley (Mem) 103,015