Kerr wins Rudy Tomjanovich Award from Pro Basketball Writers

NEW YORK (AP) Golden State's Steve Kerr has won the Rudy Tomjanovich Award, given by the Professional Basketball Writers Association to a coach who best combines excellence on the court with cooperation with fans and media.

Kerr led the Warriors to an NBA-best 67-15 record in his first season. They swept New Orleans in the first round of the playoffs.

Kerr beat out fellow finalists Doc Rivers of the Clippers, Stan Van Gundy of Detroit, Brad Stevens of Boston and Dwane Casey of Toronto. The PBWA announced the result on Monday.

The award is named for Rudy Tomjanovich, who led Houston to consecutive NBA titles in 1994-95 and was known for being respectful to the media.

Kerr previously was a color commentator for TNT and the general manager of the Phoenix Suns.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.