AP Images

It took almost 10 minutes to sort out, but officials ruled that Terrence Ross’s three at the horn didn’t count.

By SI Wire
November 21, 2016

After a long review at the end of the Raptors’ game in Sacramento on Sunday night, officials ruled that Terrence Ross’s game-tying three at the end of regulation did not count, giving the Kings a 102–99 win.

With 2.8 seconds to go, DeMarre Carroll inbounded the ball on the final possession of the game to Ross, only to have it deflected by Kings center DeMarcus Cousins. The clock did not start until Ross got the ball, and when he did receive it, he buried a long three in dramatic fashion.

After a lengthy review, it was determined that the shot would not have been released in time to count. This was highly-debated, and Toronto’s bench was furious.

Dwane Casey was irate on the floor moments after the call was made, and said postgame that he was told there was a “clock malfunction.”

Kyle Lowry declined to comment on the play three times in a row.

Toronto will travel to Los Angeles to play the red-hot Clippers on Monday night. We’ll see if another explanation is given before then, or if any fines are doled out.

– Kenny Ducey

You May Like