Skip to main content

The Seahawks are poised to repeat as Super Bowl champs

The Seahawks could join seven other teams as repeat Super Bowl champions.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

The Seattle Seahawks are poised to make NFL history on Sunday, when they could become the seventh team to win back-to-back Super Bowl titles. It would be the ninth time the same team has won the Super Bowl in consecutive years, and the first time it has happened since the New England Patriots won two Super Bowls in a row in 2004 and 2005.

Seattle finished the season 12-4 and in first place in the NFC, before beating the Carolina Panthers and the Green Bay Packers to earn a place in the Super Bowl. Seattle's 13-3 record in 2013 also earned them first place in the conference. The team's victories over the New Orleans Saints and the San Francisco 49ers in the playoffs propelled them into a Super Bowl game against the Denver Broncos, where Seattle won, 43-8.

New England compiled a 12-4 record this season, finishing first in the AFC. Playoff victories over the Baltimore Ravens and the Indianapolis Colts earned New England a berth in Super Bowl XLIX.

During the 2003 season, the Patriots finished 14-2. New England beat the Tennessee Titans and the Colts in the playoffs before defeating the Panthers 32-29 in Super Bowl XXXVIII. The following year, New England (14-2) was second to the Pittsburgh Steelers (15-1) in the AFC, but beat the Colts and Pittsburgh on the way to a 24-21 victory over the Philadelphia Eagles in Super Bowl XXXIX.

The Seahawks' win would make them just the eighth franchise with repeat Super Bowl wins.

  • Green Bay Packers - Green Bay won the inaugural Super Bowl, beating the Kansas City Chiefs 35-10 on Jan. 15, 1967. The Packers returned next year and defeated the Oakland Raiders, 33-14.
  • Miami Dolphins - Miami beat the Washington Redskins 14-7 in Super Bowl VII. The Dolphins returned the next year, winning 24-7 over the Minnesota Vikings.
  • Pittsburgh Steelers - Pittsburgh earned its first Super Bowl victory in Super Bowl IX, beating the Minnesota Vikings 16-6. Pittsburgh beat the Dallas Cowboys 21-17 the following year in Super Bowl X.
  • Pittsburgh Steelers - The Steelers returned to the Super Bowl XIII, defeating the Dallas Cowboys, 35-31. Pittsburgh completed its second pair of consecutive Super Bowl victories by beating the Los Angeles Rams 31-19 in Super Bowl XIV.
  • San Francisco 49ers - The 49ers beat the Cincinnati Bengals 20-16 in Super Bowl XXIII. San Francisco returned to Super Bowl XXIV the next year, defeating the Broncos, 55-10.
  • Dallas Cowboys - Dallas won Super Bowl XXVII over the Buffalo Bills, 52-17. The following year, Dallas again defeated the Bills (Buffalo's fourth-straight Super Bowl loss) 30-13 in Super Bowl XXVIII.
  • Denver Broncos - Denver ended a streak of 13-straight NFC Super Bowl victories by beating Green Bay 31-24 in Super Bowl XXXII. The Broncos defeated the Atlanta Falcons 34-19 the next year in Super Bowl XXXIII.
  • New England Patriots - New England beat Carolina 32-29 in Super Bowl XXXVIII, repeating the next year against the Eagles with a 24-21 victory in Super Bowl XXXIX. The win against Philadelphia was New England's third Super Bowl title in four years.

- Christopher Woody