Brett Favre, Terrell Owens among Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees

Brett Favre, Terrell Owens and Alan Faneca highlighted the list of first-year Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees for the class of 2016 announced Wednesday night. 
Publish date:

Brett Favre, Terrell Owens and Alan Faneca highlight the list of first-year Pro Football Hall of Fame nominees for the class of 2016 announced Wednesday night.

Other first-year nominees include Lawyer Milloy, Brian Westbrook, Clinton Portis, John Carney, Keith Bulluck and Mike Vrabel.

The ballot, which includes 93 players and 15 coaches, must be narrowed to 25 semifinalists by November and 15 finalists by January. Of the 93 players, 51 played on offense, 33 on defense and nine on special teams.

Favre spent 16 seasons of his 20-year career under center for the Green Bay Packers. He was selected to 11 Pro Bowls and won the NFL MVP three times, including in 1997 when he led the Packers to a Super Bowl victory. Upon his official retirement in 2010, Favre was the NFL career leader in almost every passing category.

BANKS: Is the Manning Era as we know it already over?

Owens played the first eight seasons of his career with the 49ers, and spent the final seven with the Eagles, Cowboys, Bills and Bengals. He was a six-time Pro Bowl selection and led the league in touchdown receptions three times.

Faneca, a left guard, played for the Steelers for 10 seasons of his 13-year career. He honored with Pro Bowl selections nine times and won a Super Bowl with Pittsburgh.

Between four and eight nominees will be selected to the Hall on the night before the Super Bowl.

- Erin Flynn