Clete Blakeman to lead Super Bowl 50 officiating crew

Head referee Clete Blakeman will lead a seven-person crew of officials for Super Bowl 50.
Publish date:

Head referee Clete Blakeman will lead a seven-person crew of officials for Super Bowl 50, the league announced Wednesday.

Blakeman officiated the overtime divisional playoff game between the Packers and Cardinals—which featured an overtime coin toss malfunction—and has worked three wild card games and two divisional playoff games in his career. He has yet to referee a Super Bowl. Blakeman has worked as an NFL official for eight seasons and was the alternate referee for Super Bowl XLVIII.

The other members of the Super Bowl 50 crew include umpire Jeff Rice, head linesman Wayne Mackie, line judge Rusty Baynes, field judge Boris Cheek, side judge Scott Edwards and back judge Keith Ferguson. The crew boasts a combined 97 years of NFL officiating experience and 62 playoff assignments. Mackie, Baynes and Edwards will work their first Super Bowl. 

Charles Stewart will serve as replay official and Jimmy Oldham will be the replay assistant.

The NFL officiating program's evaluation system stipulates that officials must be rated in the top tier at their position to be eligible for the Super Bowl. They must have at least five years of NFL experience and previous playoff assignments.