Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

How many Super Bowls have gone into overtime?

By SI Wire
February 05, 2017

Until Super Bowl LI, no Super Bowl in history had gone into overtime.

That changed when the Patriots rallied to tie the Falcons at 28 in Super Bowl LI.

The overtime period is a 15-minute session in which both teams get three timeouts each.

If the game is tied after that first overtime session, the teams will play as many 15-minute periods until one of them scores.

You May Like