The Patriots have won five Super Bowls, each against a different team.

By Emily Caron
February 03, 2019

The Patriots are an even 5–5 in Super Bowl appearances as they head into Super Bowl LIII on Feb. 3, 2019.

Each time the team won the Lombardi Trophy, it came at the expense of a different team, meaning the Patriots have beaten five separate franchises in Super Bowl showings.

For their five titles, New England defeated the St. Louis Rams in Super Bowl XXXVI (2001), Carolina Panthers in XXXVIII (2003), the Philadelphia Eagles in XXXIX (2004), the reigning champion Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl XLIX (2014) and the Atlanta Falcons in a comback win during Super Bowl LI (2016).

Quarterback Tom Brady has led the Patriots to all five of their Super Bowl wins.

Including this year's clash with the Rams, Brady will have quarterbacked nine of the team's 11 showings in the big game. Before the Brady era, the Patriots lost to the Bears (1985) and Packers (1996); with Brady as quarterback, they lost to the Giants (2007), Giants (2011) and Eagles (2017). 

You May Like