Skip to main content

Chiefs Name Tyrann Mathieu Derrick Thomas MVP Award Winner

Tyrann Mathieu has been named the Chiefs' most valuable player for the second time in three years.

The Kansas City Chiefs have announced their winner of the Derrick Thomas MVP Award, and safety Tyrann Mathieu has now taken the honor for the second time in three seasons.

Mathieu, in his third season with the Chiefs, recorded three interceptions and recovered three fumbles in his 16 starts, tying for third on the team in tackles behind rookie linebacker Nick Bolton and veteran linebacker Anthony Hitchens, and tied with second-year defensive back L'Jarius Sneed.

Feb 5, 2022; Las Vegas, NV, USA; Kansas City Chiefs safety Tyrann Mathieu celebrates during AFC practice at the Las Vegas Ballpark. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Mathieu's award comes at an inflection point for his future with the Chiefs, as Mathieu just played out the final season of his three-year contract with Kansas City. Entering the offseason, Mathieu is set to hit unrestricted free agency.

In an interview on NFL Network at NFL Honors ahead of Super Bowl LVI, Mathieu said he hopes to stick with the Chiefs going forward.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

“Yeah, I’m blessed, man. I feel great,” Mathieu said. “Obviously, the hope and the dream is to continue to be a Kansas City Chief. We’ve created so much history the last couple of years. I want to be in Kansas City and I think everybody knows that.”

Feb 10, 2022; Los Angeles, CA, USA; Tyrann Mathieu appears on the red carpet prior to the NFL Honors awards presentation at YouTube Theater. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

The last 20 Derrick Thomas Award winners, dating back to 2000, were Travis Kelce (2020), Mathieu (2019), Patrick Mahomes (2018), Alex Smith (2017), Eric Berry (2016), Smith and Berry (2015), Justin Houston (2014), Jamaal Charles (2013, 2012), Derrick Johnson (2011), Charles (2010, 2009), Tony Gonzalez (2008), Jared Allen (2007), Larry Johnson (2006, 2005), Trent Green (2004, 2003), Priest Holmes (2002, 2001), and Derrick Alexander (2000).

Nov 24, 2013; Kansas City, MO, USA; Kansas City Chiefs running back Jamaal Charles (25) runs the ball during the second half of the game against the San Diego Chargers at Arrowhead Stadium. The Chargers won 41-38. Mandatory Credit: Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

The Chiefs also presented their Mack Lee Hill Rookie of the Year Award on Tuesday, giving the honor to Bolton, who led the team in tackles in his first season.

Jan 8, 2022; Denver, Colorado, USA; Kansas City Chiefs outside linebacker Nick Bolton (54) after the game against the Denver Broncos at Empower Field at Mile High. Mandatory Credit: Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports