USA Hockey announces 2014 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame class

Wednesday August 6th, 2014

USA Hockey announced its Hall of Fame Class of 2014 on Wednesday, naming Brian Rafalski, Karyn Bye Dietz​, Jeff Sauer​ and Lou Vairo​ as inductees to the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame. 

Rafalski spent 11 seasons in the NHL, winning three Stanley Cups. He was a member of the U.S. Olympic hockey team at the 2002, 2006, and 2010 Games, collecting 13 points in 17 Olympic games. 

Bye Dietz was a member of the U.S. women's national team from 1992-2002, leading the U.S. 1998 gold-medal winning team with five goals at that Olympics. In 2011, Bye Dietz was inducted to the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame, becoming just the fourth woman to do so.

Sauer has spent more than 40 years coaching hockey, including 31 as an NCAA Division I men's coach, and has won two national championships. He has also coached several U.S. teams, including the 1995 men's national team. 

Vairo coached the men's national team in 1983 and 2000-03. He was also a scout for the gold-medal winning 1980 U.S. Olympic hockey team and the head coach of the team in 1984. 

More: Survey shows the NHL's most-hated teams

The class will be enshrined during a ceremony in Minneapolis/St. Paul on Dec. 4. 

- Molly Geary

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.