Bruce Bennett/Getty Images
By Staff
January 24, 2015

The rosters have been selected, the trash talk has begun flowing. On Sunday, Team Foligno and Team Toews will battle it out for All-Star supremacy in Columbus, but Saturday night will see the teams go head-to-head for individual bragging rights in the Skills Competition. 

Below are the individual events and the players chosen to participate. Full rules and scoring information can be found here.


Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater
Team Foligno Time Winner Team Toews Time
Phil Kessel 13.596 F Tyler Seguin 13.631
 Jonathan Drouin 13.103 F  Mike Hoffman 13.163
 Jiri Sekac 13.683 F  Aaron Ekblad 14.048
 Zemgus Girgensons 14.101 F  Vladimir Tarasenko 14.386
Winner: Team Foligno

Phil Kessel appears to live in perpetual fear of embarrassment, judging by his interview with Pierre McGuire prior to the Bridgestone NHL Fastest Skater competition, where he told McGuire he would “try not to embarrass” himself. Kessel beat Tyler Seguin in their head-to-head heat that was filled with all kinds of irony, and helped Team Foligno win the event. 

Vine via Jen Neale:

-- Katie Brown

Honda NHL Breakaway Challenge™
Team Foligno Team Toews
 Alex Ovechkin  Vladimir Tarasenko
 Claude Giroux  Jakub Voracek
 Ryan Johansen  Johnny Gaudreau
 G: Brian Elliott  G: Corey Crawford
Winner: Team Foligno

When Ryan Johansen took off his Blue Jackets jersey and revealed an Ohio State jersey before his first breakaway attempt, that might have been enough for him to win the fan vote for the event alone. He went one step further and plucked a small child (no, it wasn’t Johnny Gaudreau) for his second attempt. No one else stood a chance. Well, except for Jakub Voracek and Gaudreau, who spoofed Johansen’s attempt. How sweet.

Vine via @FansidedGif

-- Katie Brown

DraftKings NHL Accuracy Shooting™
Team Foligno Time Winner Team Toews Time
Bobby Ryan   30.194     T Ryan Getzlaf   14.105
Nick Foligno   13.674     F Patrice Bergeron  17.038
Radim Vrbata  22.141     F John Tavares   26.122
Patrick Kane  13.529     F Jonathan Toews   16.307
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Passer)   Rick Nash (Passer)
Anze Kopitar (Passer)   Patrik Elias (Passer)
Winner: Team Foligno

Possibly the scariest thing about this competition? How fast the players were rifling their shots, and with pretty stunning accuracy. Well, except for Bobby Ryan, who just couldn't get that last target and almost opted to go all Happy Gilmore on us. "And here comes the putter throw!"

Vine via @FansidedGif

-- Michael Blinn

Team Relay
Team Foligno Team Toews
Relay 1

Drew Doughty (one-timer)
Ryan Johansen (one-timer)
Steven Stamkos (one-timer)
Brent Burns (one-time passer)
Anze Kopitar (mini net passer)
Kevin Shattenkirk (puck control)
Patrick Kane (stick handling)
Carey Price (goalie goals)

Time: 1:37.979

Shea Weber (one-timer)
Justin Faulk (one-timer )
Tyler Seguin (one-timer)
Ryan Getzlaf (one-time passer)
John Tavares (mini net passer)
Johnny Gaudreau (puck control)
Mike Hoffman (stick handling)
Jaroslav Halak (goalie goals)

Time: 2:06.262

Relay 2

Zemgus Girgensons (one-timer)
Duncan Keith (one-timer)
Nick Foligno (one-timer)
Jiri Sekac (one-time passer)
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (mini net passer)
Drew Doughty (puck control)
Oliver Ekman-Larsson (stick handling)
Marc-Andre Fleury (goalie goals)

Time: 2:19.793

Mark Giordano (one-timer)
Ryan Suter (one-timer)
Jakub Voracek (one-timer)
Patrice Bergeron (one-time passer)
Tyler Johnson (mini net passer)
Vladimir Tarasenko (puck control)
Filip Forsberg (stick handling)
Roberto Luongo (goalie goals)

Time: 1:38.789

Winner: Team Foligno


AMP NHL Hardest Shot™
Team Foligno MPH Team Toews MPH
Alex Ovechkin  101.4 Brent Seabrook  98.6
Brent Burns  97.6 Aaron Ekblad  95.3
Steven Stamkos  98.8 Justin Faulk  95.0
Dustin Byfuglien  97.3 Shea Weber  108.5
Winner: Team Foligno

The last time the NHL held an All-Star game in 2012, Zdeno Chara won the hardest shot competition, clocking in at 108.8MPH. This year, Shea Weber’s 108.5 MPH shot terrified everyone. Patrick Kane and Phil Kessel, watching from the bench, are probably hoping they never end up on the other end of a Weber slapshot.

Vine via @FansidedGif

--Katie Brown

Discover NHL Shootout™
Team Foligno Team Toews
Round 1

Alex Ovechkin
Kevin Shattenkirk
Patrick Kane
Dustin Byfuglien
Zemgus Girgensons
Nick Foligno
Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
G: Brian Elliott

Score: 2 goals

Patrice Bergeron
Mike Hoffman
Tyler Seguin
Aaron Ekblad
Shea Weber
Vladimir Tarasenko
Ryan Suter
G: Jaroslav Halak

Score: 4 goals

Round 2

Jonathan Drouin
Oliver Ekman-Larsson
Brent Burns
Jiri Sekac
Duncan Keith
Anze Kopitar
Radim Vrbata
G: Marc-Andre Fleury

Score: 4 goals

Justin Faulk
Johnny Gaudreau
John Tavares
Brent Seabrook
Patrik Elias
Rick Nash
Mark Giordano
G: Roberto Luongo

Score: 2 goals

Round 3

Bobby Ryan
Phil Kessel
Ryan Johansen
Drew Doughty
Steven Stamkos
Claude Giroux
Nick Foligno
G: Carey Price

Score: 2 goals

Ryan Getzlaf
John Tavares
Jonathan Toews
Filip Forsberg
Tyler Seguin
Jakub Voracek
Rick Nash
G: Corey Crawford

Score: 5 goals

Winner: Team Foligno

Is this competition really fair to the goalies, who have spent the majority of the night chilling on the sidelines? Step into the net and try to defend against some of the NHL's best danglers and snipers? Years ago, the league used a 3-on-0 variety of the Shootout, and I don't remember many of the goalies enjoying it -- at least they had a fighting chance this time around. 

Despite seeing some of the fastest hands and incredible moves, it was Roberto Luongo who stole the show with this stop on Jiri Sekac: 

Vine via @FansidedGif

-- Michael Blinn

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)