Skip to main content

Lidstrom, Fedorov among 2015 Hockey Hall of Fame inductees

On Nov. 9, seven people will be inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2015.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

The Hockey Hall of Fame will induct the seven members of its Class of 2015 tonight during a ceremony at the Hall in Toronto, Canada.

Nicklas Lidstrom, Sergei Fedorov, Chris Pronger, Phil Housley and Angela Ruggiero were chosen in the Player Category, while Bill Hay and Peter Karmanos Jr. were elected in the Builder Category. 

Lidstrom won the Norris Trophy seven times during his 20-year-career, which was entirely spent with the Detroit Red Wings. The defenseman won the Stanley Cup four times and recorded 1,142 career points.

SI Vault: With flawless game, Nicklas Lidstrom is NHL's Mr. Perfect

MUIR: Pronger, Lindros deserve Hall call

Federov spent the bulk of his 18-year career with the Red Wings and tallied 954 career points. His 483 career goals rank first among Russian-born NHL players, but that mark as been tied by Alex Ovechkin of the Capitals. 

“I have always played hockey because I loved it, not because I wanted to win awards,” said Fedorov. “But now that my career is over I realize how special it is to be recognized by the Hockey Hall of Fame. I am deeply honoured to be an inductee.”

Pronger played half of his 18-year career with the St. Louis Blues and won the Hart Trophy and Norris Trophy in 2000.

Housley finished with 1,232 career points, fourth-most in NHL history among defensemen. Ruggiero played for the U.S. women’s hockey team in four Olympics, winning gold in 1998.

• MUIR: Ranking the Hall's five all time best classes

Hay has served as president and chief operating officer of Hockey Canada, president and chief executive officer of the Calgary Flames, and chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame. Karmanos is the owner and CEO of the Carolina Hurricanes.

- Molly Geary