Ann Heisenfelt/AP

Mike Modano and Jeremy Roenick will headline the Minnesota/Chicago alumni game

By Allan Muir
December 01, 2015

The Wild and Blackhawks may be the main event when the NHL’s Stadium Series heads to Minnesota on Feb. 21, but the fun starts a day earlier when the old timers step onto the TCF Bank Stadium ice.

The NHL on Tuesday announced a roster of nearly 50 former Minnesota North Stars, Minnesota Wild and Chicago Blackhawks players who will suit up or stand behind the bench for the big alumni game, with both sides drawing from nearly 50 years of hockey history.

The Minnesota squad will feature a heavy North Stars influence that includes the franchise’s leading scorer Mike Modano, two-time 50-goal scorer Dino Ciccarelli, Miracle on Ice legend Neal Broten and Jack Carlson, the former Minnesota Fighting Saint whose 10-game stint with the Edmonton Oilers in 1975 cost him the chance to go down in history as one of the Hanson Brothers from Slap Shot.

NHL Power Rankings: Dangerous Stars grab top spot for first time

Limited by their brief history, the Wild will send out Andrew Brunette, Wes Walz and Antti Laaksonen, among others.

The Blackhawks alumni squad is loaded with stars of the 1980s and ’90s, including Hall of Famers Chris Chelios and Denis Savard, 500-goal scorer Jeremy Roenick and another Miracle vet, Jack O'Callahan.

While there are a few notable names missing—Dirk Graham, who played for both sides, and Ed Belfour—it’s a terrific group and should make for a great game.

Here’s the complete roster as provided by the NHL:

D: Fred Barrett D: Adrian Aucoin
G: Don Beaupre G: Murray Bannerman
F: Brian Bellows D: Chris Chelios
D: Brad Bombardir F: Dave Christian
F: Neal Broten F: Denis Cyr
F: Andrew Brunette F: Eric Daze
F: Jack Carlson F: Reggie Kerr
G: Jon Casey D: Steve Konroyd
F: Dino Ciccarelli D: Jerry Korab
D: Curt Giles F: Cliff Koroll
D: Craig Hartsburg F: Dave Mackey
F: Darby Hendrickson F: Peter Marsh
F: Antti Laaksonen F: Jamal Mayers
D: Reed Larson F: Grant Mulvey
F: Dennis Maruk F: Troy Murray
D: Brad Maxwell F: Brian Noonan
G: Gilles Meloche D: Jack O'Callahan
F: Mike Modano F: Jeremy Roenick
F: Richard Park D: Phil Russell
F: Steve Payne F: Denis Savard
F: Willi Plett F: Reid Simpson
D: Gordie Roberts D: Brent Sopel
F: Brian Rolston G: Jimmy Waite
F: Bobby Smith  
F: Wes Walz  
F: Tom Younghans  
Lou Nanne Tony Esposito
Mike Ramsey Pat Foley
Tom Reid  

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)