NHL announces 2016 All-Star Game rosters, coaches

Wednesday January 6th, 2016

The NHL announced the rosters for the 2016 All-Star Game on Wednesday.

The teams, which include 10 players from each of the four divisions, are each made up of six forwards, three defensemen and two goaltenders who were selected by the NHL's Hockey Operations Department to compete in the three-period, three-on-three tournament. The two Eastern division teams will play a period with the winner advancing to meet the winner of the Western period.

The All-Star Game captains, who were chosen by the votes of fans, will be Florida’s Jaromir Jagr, Chicago’s Patrick Kane, Washington’s Alex Ovechkin and Arizona’s John Scott, a controversial choice in that he has barely played this season and lacks the skills necessary to compete in the tournament’s format.

MUIR: Who deserved Eastern division nods | West's most deserving players

The league also announced that Florida’s Gerard Gallant, Dallas’ Lindy Ruff, Los Angeles’ Darryl Sutter and Washington’s Barry Trotz will serve as the event’s coaches.

See the full rosters below.

The 2016 All-Star Game will take place at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. on Jan. 31.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.