FIFA adds United States-hosted 2016 Copa America Centenario to calendar

Friday September 26th, 2014

FIFA has added the 2016 Copa America Centenario, which will be hosted by the United States, to its official calendar, CONCACAF, CONMEBOL and FIFA announced Friday.

The addition to the official calendar means the top players from North and South America will be able to represent their countries in the tournament.

• BLATTER: World Cup investigation won't be published

“With its addition to the FIFA Calendar, the historic Centennial Cup America in 2016 is now set to be the most important full national team tournament hosted in the Americas since this year’s FIFA World Cup,” said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb.

The tournament will mark its 100th anniversary in 2016.

The 16-team field will be made up of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela from CONMEBOL and Mexico, the United States and Costa Rica from CONCACAF. Three additional CONCACAF teams will also qualify.

The tournament will be played in the United States from June 3-26, 2016.

• STRAUS: Wright-Phillips thriving in MLS

- Paul Palladino

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.