Lluis Gene/AFP/Getty Images

FIFA has chosen the 10 nominees for the 2014 Puskás Award celebrating the best goals of the year.

By SI Wire
November 12, 2014

FIFA has chosen the nominees for the 2014 Puskás Award, which is the award given to the player with the best goal of the year. Fans can vote online to decide the winner among the 10 goals, which were chosen by FIFA and select Football Committee members.

The full list of the nominees and video of their goals can be found on FIFA.com. Voting for the 10 nominees will run on FIFA.com through Dec. 1, when the list will be cut to three. Voting will then continue for those finalists until the winner is revealed on the FIFA Ballon d’Or show Jan. 12 from Zurich, Switzerland.

Among the notable selections is Tim Cahill's goal for Australia in the World Cup, when the striker let a long ball drop in front of him before unleashing a lefty strike that ricocheted off the crossbar and into the goal.

[youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XYtAaz9qWrk]

Robin Van Persie's header in the Netherlands' 5-1 World Cup victory over Spain also made the list. Van Persie received a high ball forward from teammate Daley Blind and appeared ready to take it down before launching himself forward for the header.

[youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DeKSmd-hjwo​]

Paris Saint-Germain's Zlatan Ibrahimovic, the 2013 Puskás Award winner, also made the list for his goal vs. Bastia in France's Ligue 1 on Oct. 19, 2013.

The Puskás Award was created in memory of Ferenc Puskás, the renowned captain of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s. It has been awarded since 2009.

- Mike Fiammetta

You May Like