USMNT names 23-man roster for Chile, Panama friendlies; Yedlin added

Saturday January 24th, 2015

After nearly two weeks weeks of training camp in California, the United States men's national team has whittled down its 29-man camp contingent to 23-player travel roster that will travel to South America for a friendly match against Chile, the U.S. Soccer Federation announced on Saturday.  

The USMNT will take on Chile this Wednesday, Jan. 28 (6 p.m. ET, Fox Sports 1/UniMas/Univision Deportes), before returning to the StubHub Center in Carson, Ca. for a match against regional rival Panama on Feb. 8 (ESPN, UniMas, Univision Deportes). 

Planet Futbol
Exclusive: Klinsmann discusses his view on Altidore, Diskerud moves

National team newcomers Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Alex Bono (Toronto FC), Christian Dean (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Dennis Flores (Club Leon) Julio Morales (Tepic) and Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy) have been released to their clubs, while Liverpool's Marc Pelosi will remain in Los Angeles and rejoin the team after it returns from South America. 

Also of note is that recent Tottenham Hotspur acquisition DeAndre Yedlin will join up with the team in Chile after not participating in the January camp. In total, the squad includes nine players (Nick Rimando, Matt Besler, Jermaine Jones, Yedlin, Michael Bradley, Mix Diskerud, Jozy Altidore, Clint Dempsey, and Chris Wondolowski) from the U.S.' 2014 World Cup squad, while eight players (Jon Kempin, Steve Birnbaum, Matt Hedges, Shane O'Neill, Dillon Serna, Wil Trapp, and Gyasi Zardes) will be looking for their first cap with the senior national team.

The full roster is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Sean Johnson (Chicago Fire), Jon Kempin (Sporting Kansas City), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Shane O’Neill (Colorado Rapids), DeAndre Yedlin (Tottenham Hotspur)

MIDFIELDERS: Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Luis Gil (Real Salt Lake), Miguel Ibarra (Minnesota United FC), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids), Brek Shea (Orlando City), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (1860 Munich), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.