Giovinco, Kamara, Feilhaber finalists for MLS MVP; 2015 award shortlists

Tuesday November 3rd, 2015

Major League Soccer announced its award finalists for 2015 on Tuesday with Sporting Kansas City midfielder Benny Feilhaber, Toronto FC midfielder Sebastian Giovinco and Columbus Crew SC forward Kei Kamara all in the running for the Landon Donovan MVP award. The MVP will be announced on Dec. 2.

Giovinco, who is also a finalist for the Newcomer of the Year award along with Didier Drogba and Mike Grella, had a record-setting season with 22 goals and 16 assists, becoming the first to lead MLS in both categories in a single season.

Feilhaber, 30, has a career-high 10 goals and 15 assists this year, making him one of four players to earn double-digits in both goals and assists.

Kamara, who is also being considered for the MLS Works Humanitarian of the Year award, has 22 goals and six assists on the year to tie Giovinco for the league lead in goals.

• Firing of Jason Kreis shows NYCFC has mind-set of a European club​

Other finalists are listed below:

Rookie of the Year 

Fatai Alashe (San Jose Earthquakes), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire) 

Defender of the Year

Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Coach of the Year

Jesse Marsch (New York Red Bulls), Oscar Pareja (FC Dallas), Carl Robinson (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Comeback Player of the Year

Tim Melia (Sporting Kansas City), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers)

Goalkeeper of the Year

Bill Hamid (D.C. United), David Ousted (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls) 

The full list of finalists and award announcement dates can be viewed here.

- Xandria James

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.