Arturo Vidal scored twice, including on a late, controversial penalty, to lift Chile over Bolivia at Copa America.
Chile and Bolivia's Copa America Group C battle devolved in to chaos Friday night, with Arturo Vidal's 100th-minute penalty after a controversial call the decisive strike in a 2-1 win for La Roja.
Vidal scored twice, sandwiching a remarkable free-kick strike from Bolivia's Jhasmani Campos to account for the scoring. The latter stages of the match also saw Bolivia's Ronald Eguino take a bicycle kick directly to the head from Eduardo Vargas. It appeared that Eguino was knocked out, perhaps even before he crashed into the ground, yet Bolivia sent him back into the match moments later.
The game, which was controlled by Chile, went into halftime at 0-0, but it didn't take long for action to pick up. Chile took the lead through Vidal in the 46th minute with him working a combination with Mauricio Pinilla before finishing from the center of the box.
Bolivia answered soon after, and in spectacular fashion. Campos, just into the game in the 58th minute, bent a phenomenal free kick from distance by Claudio Bravo and into the upper left-hand corner of the next to equalize in the 61st.
Chaos ensued after Luis Gutierrez was whistled for a handball deep into stoppage time. It appeared that the assistant referee was the one who made the call, but it also appeared that Gutierrez had tucked his arm behind his back and the ball hit off his shoulder. No matter, Vidal stepped up and converted the penalty to secure the three points for Chile.
Chile wraps up Group D play against Panama on Tuesday, while Bolivia faces mighty Argentina.