Chevrolet wins IndyCar manufacturers championship

SONOMA, Calif. (AP) Chevrolet has clinched its third straight IndyCar manufacturers championship with two races left in the series' season.

Chevrolet has won all three manufacturers titles since returning to the series in 2012.

Its IndyCar V6 engine program has won 10 of the first 16 races of the season heading into the weekend's event at Sonoma Raceway.

Chevrolet supplies Team Penske, which has three of the top five drivers in the overall standings with Will Power, Helio Castroneves and Juan Pablo Montoya. The manufacturer also supplies a combined eight drivers with Chip Ganassi Racing, KV Racing Technology and Ed Carpenter Racing.

Chevrolet returned to IndyCar in 2012 after a six-year absence. The company competed in Indy-style racing from 1986-93 and from 2002-05.

The IndyCar season ends Aug. 30 in Fontana, California.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.