Kevin Harvick named Driver of the Year

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) NASCAR champion Kevin Harvick has been named Driver of the Year by a panel of broadcasters and journalists.

Harvick won the final two races of the season to earn his first career Sprint Cup title. He won five races in his first season with Stewart-Haas Racing, and it included three in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship.

Harvick received 13 of the 16 votes cast by motorsports journalists who vote for just one driver. IndyCar champion Will Power, Nationwide Series champion Chase Elliott and World of Outlaws champion Donny Schatz all received one vote each.

The Driver of the Year award is in its 48th season and encompasses all racing series in the United States. There are 17 journalists eligible to vote.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.