Penske power at Texas qualifying, all 4 drivers in top 5

FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) Will Power is starting on the pole at Texas for the third year in a row, and three of his fellow Team Penske drivers are close to him.

Defending IndyCar Series champion Power had a two-lap average Friday of 218.519 mph, just ahead of Team Penske teammate Simon Pagenaud at 218.441 mph.

Helio Castroneves starts third, right behind Power's Chevrolet and ahead of fellow Penske driver Indianapolis 500 champ and season points leader Juan Pablo Montoya, who qualified fifth.

Andretti Autosport driver Carlos Munoz qualified third in his Honda.

It is Power's fourth pole this year. He won the Indianapolis Grand Prix. Power finished second at Texas last year, and seventh in 2013. He won at the high-banked 1 1/2-mile track in the second race of a 2011 doubleheader, when he started third.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.