Helio Castroneves wins IndyCar pole

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) Helio Castroneves will start from the pole Saturday night in the IndyCar race at the Iowa Speedway.

The Team Penske driver raced to his third pole of the season and the 44th of his career.

Fellow Brazilian Tony Kanaan of Chip Ganassi Racing will start on the front row with Castroneves. Series points leader Juan Pablo Montoya of Penske will start third, followed by Ganassi's Scott Dixon, KVSH Racing's Simon Pagenaud and Penske's Will Power.

Andretti Autosport drivers have won five straight races at the track. Marco Andretti was the team's top qualifier at No. 8. Ryan Hunter-Reay, the 2012 and 2014 winner, was ninth.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.