May 24, 2016

At least 66 people have died because of auto racing since 1909 at the site occupied by Indianapolis Motor Speedway, including 40 drivers, 14 mechanics and nine spectators:


Drivers in Race (15)

1909-William Borque, Springfield, Mass.

1919-Louis LeCocq, France, and Arthur Thurman, Washington.

1929-Bill Spence, Los Angeles.

1933-Mark Billman, Indianapolis, and Lester Spangler, Los Angeles.

1935-Clay Weatherly, Cincinnati.

1939-Floyd Roberts, Van Nuys, Calif.

1947-Shorty Cantlon, Detroit.

1953-Carl Scarborough, Clarkston, Mich.

1955-Bill Vukovich Sr., Fresno, Calif.

1958-Pat O'Connor, North Vernon, Ind.

1964-Eddie Sachs, Detroit, and Dave MacDonald, El Monte, Calif.

1973-Swede Savage, Santa Ana, Calif.


Drivers in Practice Or Qualifications (25)

1910-Tommy Kincaid, Indianapolis.

1913-Harry Martin, Indianapolis.

1926-Herbert Jones, Indianapolis.

1931-Joe Caccia, Bryn Mawr, Pa.

1932-Milton Jones, Cleveland.

1933-William Denver, Audubon, Pa.

1934-Pete Kreis, Knoxville, Tenn.

1935-Johnny Hannon, Norristown, Pa., and Stubby Stubblefield, Los Angeles.

1940-George Bailey, Indianapolis.

1948-Ralph Hepburn, Van Nuys, Calif.

1949-George Metzler, Indianapolis.

1953-Chet Miller, Glendale, Calif.

1955-Manuel Ayulo, Burbank, Calif.

1957-Keith Andrews, Colorado Springs.

1959-Jerry Unser, Lakewood, Calif., and Bob Cortner, Redlands, Calif.

1961-Tony Bettenhausen Sr., Tinley Park, Ill.

1966-Chuck Rodee, Indianapolis.

1968-Mike Spence, Maidenhead, England.

1972-Jim Malloy, Denver.

1973-Art Pollard, Medford, Ore.

1982-Gordon Smiley, Grapevine, Texas.

1992-Jovy Marcelo, Philippines.

1996-Scott Brayton, Coldwater, Mich.


Riding Mechanics in Race (7)

1909-Harry Holcomb, Springfield, Mass., and Claude Kellum, Indianapolis.

1911-Sam Dickson.

1919-Robert Bandini, Los Angeles, and Nicholas Mollinard, France.

1930-Paul Marshall, Indianapolis.

1933-G.L. Gordon, Lafayette, Ind.


Mechanics in Practice (7)

1931-Clarence Grover, Haverford, Pa.

1932-Harry Cox, Indianapolis.

1933-Bob Hurst, Indianapolis.

1934-Robert Hahn, Chino, Calif.

1935-Leo Whitaker, Los Angeles.

1937-Albert Opalko, Gary, Ind.

1939-Lawson Harris.


Track Personnel in Race (2)

1961-John Masariu, Danville, Ind.

1973-Armando Teran, Santa Monica, Calif.


Spectators at Race (9)

1909-Homer Joliff, Franklin, Ind., and James West, Indianapolis.

1923-Bert Shoup, Lafayette, Ind.

1937-George Warford, Indianapolis, and Otto Rhode, Toledo, Ohio.

1938-Everett Spence, Terre Haute, Ind.

1960-Fred Linder, Indianapolis, and William Craig, Zionsville, Ind.

1987-Lyle Kurtenbach, Rothschild, Wis.


Bystander Outside Track (1)

1931-Wilbur Brink, Indianapolis. Struck by wheel.

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)