Brewers announce 'Wall of Honor' at Miller Park in 2014

Thursday December 19th, 2013

There will be 58 members in the first class to be recognized by the Wall of Honor in June. (Christian Petersen/Getty Images) There will be 58 members in the first class to be recognized by the Wall of Honor in June. (Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

The Milwaukee Brewers announced Thursday a "Wall of Honor" that will be on display at its Miller Park home field starting next season to recognize players, coaches and executives "who either spent a significant portion of their career with the Brewers, or have a significant legacy with the organization through various achievements," according to Brewers COO Rick Schlesinger in a report from Tom Haudricourt of the Journal-Sentinel. 

The first class to be inducted will feature 58 members, each honored on June 13 with a bronze plaque on the outside wall of the ballpark. The honor is bestowed upon many from the organization who would otherwise not be elected to the "Walk of Fame" at the ballpark, which is typically reserved for Hall of Famers, such as Paul Molitor and Robin Yount, two players of the 58 to be recognized by the Wall of Honor in June.

SI WIRE: Juan Gonzalez auctioning his 1996 AL MVP award, other memorabilia

In order to qualify for the Wall of Honor, one must meet the following criteria:

*2,000 or more plate appearances

*1,000 or more innings pitched

*250 appearances as a pitcher

*Winner of a major award (MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year, or Fireman of the Year)

*Manager of a pennant-winning team

*Individuals memorialized with statues on the Miller Park Plaza

*Members of the National Baseball Hall of Fame who played for or managed the Brewers

John Axford, Ryan Braun, Prince Fielder, Yovani Gallardo, J.J. Hardy, Corey Hart and Rickie Weeks are a few of the Brewers who will be recognized on the Wall of Honor upon retirement. The 58 members to be recognized in June are as follows:

Hank Aaron, Jerry Augustine, Sal Bando, Chris Bosio, Johnny Briggs, Jeromy Burnitz, Mike Caldwell, Bill Castro, Jeff Cirillo, Jim Colborn, Cecil Cooper, Craig Counsell, Chuck Crim, Rob Deer, Cal Eldred, Mike Fetters, Rollie Fingers, Jim Gantner, Moose Haas, Bill Hall, Darryl Hamilton, Teddy Higuera, John Jaha, Geoff Jenkins, Harvey Kuenn, Sixto Lezcano, Pat Listach, Mark Loretta, Davey May, Bob McClure, Paul Molitor, Don Money, Charlie Moore, Jaime Navarro, Dave Nilsson, Ben Oglivie, Dan Plesac, Darrell Porter, Ken Sanders, George Scott, Kevin Seitzer, Bud Selig, Richie Sexson, Ben Sheets, Ted Simmons, Jim Slaton, B.J. Surhoff, Don Sutton, Gorman Thomas , Bill Travers, Bob Uecker, Jose Valentin, Greg Vaughn, Fernando Vina, Pete Vuckovich, Bill Wegman, Bob Wickman and Robin Yount.
JAFFE: JAWS and the 2014 Hall of Fame ballot: Mike Mussina
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.