Real Madrid, Manchester United, Manchester City headline 8-team 2014 ICC field

Publish date:

Cristiano Ronaldo (left), Iker Casillas and Real Madrid won the inaugural Guinness International Champions Cup, and they'll return to defend that title this summer. (Scott A. Miller/AP)

Real Madrid, ICC

The Guinness International Champions Cup will return for its second edition after a 2013 debut, and has learned the eight teams that will make up this year's star-studded field.

Real Madrid, Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, AC Milan, Inter Milan, Roma and Olympiakos will venture to North America after the World Cup to take part in the ICC as part of their club preseason activities.

The tournament will take place from July 26 to August 4 in Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, New York, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, Washington D.C. and Miami. (There will be at least one additional venue that has yet to be finalized.)

Unlike last year’s event, which was played with a bracket, this year’s ICC will have two four-team groups. The winners of each group will meet in the final at SunLife Stadium near Miami.

There are a couple of caveats. One, the teams are subject to change if they end up having to participate in qualifying for 2014-15 UEFA tournaments based on their performance in the current league season. And two, players whose national teams go deep into the World Cup (which ends on July 13) may not be available.