O'Reilly returns to USWNT for games vs. England, France, Germany

USWNT manager Jill Ellis has called on her veteran nucleus while recalling a pair of World Cup winners for the SheBelieves Cup.
Publish date:

After the U.S. won CONCACAF's Olympic qualifying tournament and cemented its place in Rio de Janeiro this summer, Jill Ellis has recalled a couple of World Cup winners for the Americans' next test.

Heather O'Reilly and Whitney Engen return to the U.S. for the SheBelieves Cup, a tournament featuring European powers Germany, France and England next month on U.S. soil. Seattle Reign defender Lauren Barnes, 26, is the only other non-Olympic-qualifying addition to the roster, as she gets tabbed for the first time. Stephanie McCaffrey is the lone player from Olympic qualifying who does not make the 22-player roster for this competition, while star fixtures Carli Lloyd, Alex Morgan and Hope Solo return to lead the squad.

Mallory Pugh, the 17-year-old standout who earned starts in the key Olympic qualifying matches, also makes Ellis's team.

The USA will take on England on March 3 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida; France on March 6 at Nissan Stadium in Nashville, Tennessee; and Germany on March 9 at FAU Stadium in Boca Raton, Florida. All four made it to at least the quarterfinals of the 2015 Women's World Cup, with Germany ousting France in the quarters before falling to the USA in the semifinals. England also fell in the semifinals, to eventual runner-up Japan.

Here is the USA's roster for the competition:

GOALKEEPERS: Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)

DEFENDERS: Lauren Barnes (Seattle Reign FC), Whitney Engen (Boston Breakers), Jaelene Hinkle (Western New York Flash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O'Hara (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Emily Sonnett (Portland Thorns FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Lindsey Horan (Portland Thorns FC), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (Western New York Flash), Heather O'Reilly (FC Kansas City)

FORWARDS: Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Mallory Pugh (Real Colorado, UCLA)