UCL Linesman Admits Crucial Mistake That May Have Cost Bayern Munich

Nov 13, 2022; Munich, Germany; The FC Bayern logo in the seats.
Nov 13, 2022; Munich, Germany; The FC Bayern logo in the seats. / Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports
In this story:

With Real Madrid ahead 2–1 in the second leg of its Champions League semifinal against Bayern Munich on Wednesday, Bayern Munich defender Matthijs de Ligt appeared to fire the ball into the net in the 103rd minute to tie the game at four goals apiece.

However, it wasn't to be. To the shock of de Ligt and his teammates, the linesman had signaled offside long before the goal was scored—unusually long, in fact. Moments later, Real Madrid was through to the final.

After the game, de Ligt told beIN Sports that the linesman had apologized to him for the call.

"The linesman told me, 'I'm sorry. I made a mistake,'" de Ligt chuckled ruefully. "At the end of the day I'm not the type of person to blame a loss or win on a referee. Madrid, they deserved to win."

The loss guaranteed Bayern Munich will finish 2024 trophy-free for the first time since 2012; Bayer Leverkusen has clinched the Bundesliga title and will play FC Kaiserslautern for the DFB-Pokal on May 25.


Published
Patrick Andres

PATRICK ANDRES

Patrick Andres has been a Staff Writer on the Breaking & Trending News Team at Sports Illustrated since 2022. Before SI, his work appeared in The Blade, Athlon Sports, Fear the Sword, and Diamond Digest. Patrick has covered everything from zero-attendance Big Ten basketball to a seven-overtime college football game. He is a graduate of Northwestern University.