Lisa Leslie headlines Women's Basketball Hall of Fame inductees

Saturday July 19th, 2014

Lisa Leslie, a three-time WNBA MVP, two-time WNBA champion and four-time gold medalist headlines a class of six inductees into the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame, the organization announced during the WNBA All-Star game in Phoenix on Saturday.

Griner blossoming in WNBA after rough 1st year

The 42-year-old Leslie and five others will be inducted to the Hall, which is located in Knoxville, Tenn., in June 2015.

Joining Leslie are Janeth Arcain, who won four WNBA titles in eight seasons with the Houston Comets, Janet Harris, who was the first NCAA women's basketball player to record 2,500 career points and 1,250 rebounds, the late Oklahoma State coach Kurt Budke, former Duke and Texas coach Gail Goestenkors and former Oregon City High coach Brad Smith.

Leslie, who retired in 2009, won championships with the Sparks in 2001 and 2002 and was an eight-time WNBA All-Star. She averaged 17.3 points, 9.1 rebounds and 2.4 assists and 2.3 blocks in her 12-year career.

- Chris Mascaro


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.