UNSUPPORTED BROWSER
NFL

NFL announces list of fines for 2014-15 season on-field violations

Dallas wide receiver Dez Bryant and Washington free safety E.J. Biggers scuffle during a 2013 game. Photo: Michael Ainsworth/Dallas Morning News/MCT via Getty Images

Dallas wide receiver Dez Bryant and Washington free safety E.J. Biggers scuffle during a 2013 game.

The National Football League released its updated fines list for the 2014-15 season, which has been approved by the NFL Players Association.

Violation First Offense Second Offense
Fighting $27,562 $55,125
Spearing $22,050 $44,100
Impermissible use of the helmet $22,050 $44,100
Hit on defenseless player $22,050 $44,100
Blindsided block $22,050 $44,100
Horse collar tackle $16,637 $33,075
Leg whip $16,637 $33,075
Roughing the passer $16,637 $33,075
Excessive profanity; unsportsmanlike conduct $11,025 $22,020
Striking/Kicking/Kneeing $8,268 $15,539
Face Mask $8,268 $15,539
Late Hit $8,268 $15,539
Low Block $8,268 $15,539
Chop lock $8,268 $15,539
Taunting $8,268 $15,539
Unnecessarily entering fight area (active involvement) $5,512 $11,025
Football into stands $5,512 $11,025
Unnecessarily entering fight area (no active involvement) $2,756 $8,268

More: Did Browns make the right choice?

Troy Vincent, the executive vice president of NFL Football Operations announced the new fines, as well as the NFL’s step-by-step review process for on-field rules violations.

The above fine schedule, which is distributed to the players before the season, charges nearly twice the amount for the second offense of the same incident. The highest fine is for fighting, which will cost a player $27,562 for his first offense, and $55,125 for his second.

Vincent said every play, whether it has been penalized or not, is reviewed by the NFL officiating department. Violations are referred to the NFL operations department. Then, Vincent and Merton Hanks make the decision on whether a player is disciplined, which usually is just a fine.

After the decision, the players are notified by the NFL in writing, along with information on the violation and how to appeal the punishment. A player has three days from the time they receive the discipline to appeal the decision. If appealed, a hearing is held within 10 days of the notice of appeal, and are heard by NFL appeals officers Derrick Brooks and Ted Cottrell.

A player is not fined until the appeal is decided. The fine money is donated through the NFL Foundation to assist former players. Vincent reports that approximately $4 million a year has been donated over the past five years.

- Sarah Barshop

More NFL

SI.com

Drag this icon to your bookmark bar.
Then delete your old SI.com bookmark.

SI.com

Click the share icon to bookmark us.