Thursday July 23rd, 2015

The Chicago Bears will begin training camp on July 30 at Olivet Nazarene University in Bourbonnais, Ill. Camp breaks on Aug. 16, three days after the Bears' first preseason game against the Miami Dolphins. 

The Bears are coming off a 5-11 season, which led to the dismissal of head coach Marc Trestman. Chicago began 2014 3-3 before finishing 2-8 in its last 10 games. The offense and defense equally shared the blame, with Jay Cutler's unit failing to average 20 points per game, while the defense finished 31st in points allowed.

As a result of the struggles, Chicago completely overhauled its coaching staff. Replacing Trestman will be former Broncos and Panthers coach John Fox, who reached the Super Bowl in each of his last two stops. Fox brought with him former Broncos offensive coordinator Adam Gase for the same job with the Bears, and poached former San Francisco coach Vic Fangio to run the defense. 

Chicago will enter the 2015 season with a new general manager as well, with 37-year-old Ryan Pace taking the reins as the youngest general manager in football. Pace already has made some bold moves, such as trading receiver Brandon Marshall for a fifth-round pick, and signing Eddie Royal and drafting Kevin White in the first round to replace him. 

The Bears are hoping a switch to a 3-4 defense, which Fangio had great success with in San Francisco, as well as a host of veteran newcomers such as Antrell Rolle, Tracy Porter, Parnell McPhee and Sam Acho can slow down opposing offenses. Gase, who worked closely with Peyton Manning in Denver, will be the latest coach tasked with reviving Cutler's up-and-down career. 

Bears training camp schedule (all times CT):

Thursday, July 30: (no pads) 9:35 – 11:30 a.m.

Friday, July 31: (no pads) 11:15 am – 1:10 p.m.

Saturday, August 1: (Youth Football Day) 9:35 – 11:30 a.m.

Sunday, August 2: (Vamos Bears Day) 11:15 a.m. – 1:10 p.m.

Monday, August 3: 9:35 – 11:30 a.m.

Tuesday, August 4: No Practice

Wednesday, August 5: (Ladies Day) 11:15 a.m. – 1:10 p.m.

Thursday, August 6: 9:35 – 11:30 am

Friday, August 7: (Blue and Orange Day) 11:15 a.m. – 1:10 p.m.

Saturday, August 8: (Meijer Family Fest) 11:35 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. (Soldier Field)

Sunday, August 9: No Practice

Monday, August 10: (Armed Forces Day) 11:15 a.m. – 1:10 p.m.

Tuesday, August 11: 9:35 – 11:30 a.m.

Wednesday, August 12: No Practice

Thursday, August 13: Preseason game vs. Miami (Soldier Field)

Friday, August 14: No Practice

Saturday, August 15: (Kids Day/Run with Staley) 11:15 a.m. – 1:10 p.m.

Sunday, August 16: (Fan Appreciation Day) 9:35 – 11:30 a.m.

Tickets:

Tickets are not required except for the Family Fest practice, tickets which can be purchased here. For 9:35 a.m. practices, gates will open at 8:35 a.m. with warm-ups beginning at 8:50 a.m. and practice concluding at 11:30 a.m. For 11:15 a.m. practices, gates will open at 10 a.m. with warm-ups starting at 10:30 a.m. and practice ending at 1:10 p.m. 

Location:

The Bears will conduct training camp at Olivet Nazarene University in Bourbonnais, Ill. 

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.