Late goaltending call in UCLA-SMU game spurs debate

0:48 | College Basketball
Referees call controversial goaltend in SMU-UCLA game
Thursday March 19th, 2015

A critical goaltending call that sent UCLA to the third-round of the NCAA tournament spurred debate among athletes and pundits about whether officials made the correct decision. 

With just seconds remaining in the second half, UCLA's Bryce Alford attempted a three-pointer. SMU's Yanick Moreira, positioned under the basket, jumped up and grabbed the ball as it approached the rim. What's less clear is whether Moreira impeded the ball's path toward the basket or whether the ball was going to miss the basket entirely. 

Officials called a goaltend, giving UCLA a late 60-59 lead. The score held, and the Bruins advanced. 

After the call, debate ignited on Twitter. 


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.