Three Football Bowl Subdivision postseason games added in Tucson, Austin and Orlando; push total to 42

By SI Wire
May 06, 2015

The NCAA certified three new bowl games this week, pushing the total of postseason games in the Football Bowl Subdivision to a record-high of 42, reports's Brett McMurphy.

The new bowls mean that 82 teams, nearly two-thirds of the FBS, will need to fill those spots each season.

The Cure Bowl at the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, Fla., and unnamed bowls in Tucson, Ariz., and Austin, Texas, will make their debut after the upcoming regular season.

A bowl game in Little Rock, Ark., was also up for certification, but organizers decided to hold off and asked to be considered for the following season’s bowl slate.

The Cure Bowl will pit teams from Mountain West and Conference USA, and the Austin and Tucson bowls will have teams from the American Athletic and Sun Belt.

According to the report, the Tucson bowl will be played at the University of Arizona's stadium and is scheduled for Dec. 29. The Cure Bowl is set for Dec. 19 and will be televised by CBS Sports Network.

STAPLES: Assessing the Big 12's risky move

The Austin Bowl is scheduled to be held at Darrell K. Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium, home of Texas Longhorns football.

ESPN or ABC televised 38 of 39 bowls last season, with the only exception being the Hyundai Sun Bowl, which has been televised by CBS since 1968.

- Scooby Axson

You May Like