Associated Press/Stephen Spillman

Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt has been selected as the new chairman of the College Football Playoff selection committee

By SI Wire
January 14, 2016

Texas Tech athletic director Kirby Hocutt has been selected as the new chairman of the College Football Playoff selection committee, CFP executive director Bill Hancock announced Thursday.

“Kirby has established himself as a natural leader,” Hancock said. “His personality, his background as a Football Bowl Subdivision student-athlete and his experience make him a perfect fit to chair the committee.”

Hocutt replaces Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long, who served as the committee’s chairman for the past two years. Long will remain on the committee.

The chairman’s responsibilities included setting the agenda for the committee, running meetings, and serving as the committee’s spokesperson along with Hancock.

“College football continues to have a significant impact in my life and I am humbled and honored by this appointment,” Hocutt said. “Serving on the committee this past season was a tremendous experience. The thoughtful consideration, professionalism and integrity exhibited by the members of this committee speak to the level of success the College Football Playoff has shown in its brief history.”

Hocutt is a 1995 graduate from Kansas State University, where he was a All-Big Eight conference linebacker. He received a master’s degree in education from the University of Oklahoma and went on to become the athletic director at Ohio University and the University of Miami, Fla. before holding the same position at Texas Tech. Hocutt was also chairman of the NCAA Division I Football Recruiting Subcommittee.

- Xandria James

You May Like