With the season fast approaching, Sports Illustrated is once again recognizing the best players in the country with our 2017 All-America teams. How exclusive is the list of college football’s premier players at each position? Last year’s Heisman Trophy winner Lamar Jackson finished third in the quarterback voting and was left off both the first and second teams. Elsewhere, the leading vote-getters dovetail with this fall’s primary College Football Playoff contenders: Oklahoma, LSU, Alabama, Florida State and Ohio State all boast multiple first-team honorees. This year’s voters were Andy Staples, Bruce Feldman, Joan Niesen, Chris Johnson, Chris Burke, Jim Gorant, Mike Harris and Eric Single. An asterisk(*) next to a player’s name denotes that he was a unanimous selection.
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.